Confessions of a Gen Y Kid

A series from 2021 in which I reflect upon my “Xennial” life experiences as a product of Millennial culture

Anthony Eichberger
2 min readDec 5, 2022
Photo by Louis Hansel on Unsplash

Those who know me best already know how much I value attempts at intergenerational solidarity. Whether it’s the main generational cohorts or the “microgenerations” in-between those primary cohorts…we can only learn and grow from understanding the historical differences found amongst our lived experiences.

Last year, I wrote an informal series entitled:

“Confessions of a Gen Y Kid”

Throughout four installments, I explored and reflected upon my experiences growing up as a Millennial child and teenager (technically, a member of the “Xennial” microgeneration). The 1980s and 1990s were remarkably different from the aughts, the 2010s, and the current 2020s.

And, although I’m not claiming to “speak for” all Millennials, I wrote these pieces to give folks outside of my generation a little glimpse of the vantage point possessed by an autistic rural country boy born in 1982.

PART 1: “Confessions of a Gen Y Kid: Our Education

My memoir of the K-12 school culture to which I was subjected, from the age of 5 up through the age of 17.

PART 2: “Confessions of a Gen Y Kid: Pop Culture

I describe the cacophony of discipline, bullying, gaslighting, malnutrition, leisure activities, and pop culture trends that I both experienced as well as passively witnessed.

PART 3: “Confessions of a Gen Y Kid: Electronic Media

I recall the music, TV shows, and movies that influenced our salad days and our adolescence, as Millennials.

PART 4: “Confessions of a Gen Y Kid: College Life

In the final installment of this series, I chronicle the media staples and current/world events that were prominent during my college years.

BONUS PIECE: “Alphas or Coronials: ‘Gen AA’ Rises”

For the collective benefit of Boomers, Gen X, Gen Y, and Gen Z — a primer on the youngest living generation, Gen AA (“Alphas”), the cohort that directly comes after Gen Z in the generational chronology.

Click here to subscribe to my stories.

--

--

Anthony Eichberger

Gay. Millennial. Pagan/Polytheist. Disabled. Rural-Born. Politically-Independent. Fashion-Challenged. Rational Egoist. Survivor. #AgriWarrior (Deal With It!)